The Adventures of Bitch Shepard Begin plus Miracle of Sound

1 Apr

-Bitch Shepard

I’m naturally a kind person. I hold open doors for strangers, smile at those who pass me by and do favors for my friends. Therefore when I play Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, I naturally lean towards Paragon. Some people might tell you that paragon is “good” while renegade is “evil”. This is not the truth. Both alignments of Shepard are trying to save the galaxy. They are both looking out for the greater good. The difference is how they go about it. Paragon Shepard is kind, friendly, trusting of strangers, idealistic, overall follows the law and treats all races as equals. This results in sometime is a Shepard which gets duped, sounds high and mighty from time to time and earns less money from not dealing with shady characters.

Renegade Shepard, on the other hand is an awkward mix of pragmatism, professionalism, badass-ness, racism, and being a jerk. The first three traits work fine together but with the racism and being a jerk thrown in there, it results in a Shepard who acts highly unpredictably. If you are seeking to develop a consistent Shepard in your mind, renegade playthroughs can make that hard. Also, wavering on which alignment you choose can have some negative implications since having a high renegade or paragon score are required to select some of the most powerful conversation options. So if you want to be kind to your crew but a son of a bitch to strangers, you’ll see your lack of single-minded character development harm you in the long run.

Though not a perfect solution, I think I have figured a way to make Shepard come across as less crazy. It involves using a feature added to the radial dialogue system in Dragon Age 2. When you hover over a dialogue choice, a picture is displayed in the center of the radial. The picture hints at what the nature of your response will be such as a heart for flirting. If the pragmatic and professional aspects could get a symbol (let’s say a pistol) and the racism and being a general ass had another (like a fist), you could avoid the aspects of renegade you dislike and form a much more consistent character. Of course a similar set of symbols would be implemented for paragon so to help those who’d like to be kind without being taken for a chump. While not a perfect system since it requires learning a set of symbols, it would help clarify Shepard’s intent while still allowing the ability to continue to navigate the dialogue quickly. Without such cues, either Shepard but particularly renegade Shepard comes across as a rather inconsistent character.

The difficulty of realistically characterizing a renegade Shepard more then any other reason has dissuaded me from doing a renegade playthrough until just recently. Well-developed characters are one of my favorite things in the world. While Shepard is probably one of the least interesting characters in the Mass Effect trilogy, they are the gateway through which the player interacts with the world and therefore it detracts from the experience if Shepard is too inconsistent to be considered a real character. To get through the experience of a renegade playthrough, I vowed to myself that I would not attempt to mentally characterize this Shepard and instead am treating her has an exercise in hyperbole. I will play this Shepard as renegade as possible to see where those choices lead as well as to laugh at how schizophrenic she comes across. I mentally refer to her as Bitch Shepard as I play.

So far it has been pretty funny, though I’m not very far yet. My favorite moment that has happened so far was when I knocked out Manuel, the slightly crazy assistant of a scientist I found in the area where the player is first introduced to husks. My Shepard first said “Night Night, Manuel” in a creepy voice and then punched him so hard he passed out. The scientist freaked out at my treatment of her assistant and I calmly and pragmatically explain that he was unstable, unpredictable, and could have hurt someone at any moment. Sound like anyone you know, eh Shepard? I hope to recount the funniest or most thought-provoking bits of my experience with my renegade in a reoccurring segment I’ll call The Adventures of Bitch Shepard. Tune in from time to time to see more hilarious hijinks and thoughtful in-game character development commentary.

-Miracle of Sound

This next bit is slightly Mass Effect related but mostly just a quick recommendation I wanted to get out there. Miracle of Sound is a musician best known probably for his original song, “Commander Shepard “

It doesn’t matter if you haven’t played Mass Effect, this song is dangerously fun, catchy and rocks quite a bit more then most people would expect a song about a video game to rock. And just this week, The Escapist, my favorite nerd lifestyle website, started featuring his music. His newest song, Age of the Dragon, is one his best yet with its earworm refrain and driving guitar. I haven’t even played Dragon Age 2 (which it is about) and I already downloaded the song from iTunes because I enjoyed it so much. It is always exciting to see someone with this much talent and creativity get rewarded for their efforts, but since I was already a fan and he is getting featured on one of my favorite websites, I’m doubly excited. Aside from the two songs I mentioned above, he has two other songs I really like: Gordon Freeman Saved My Life about Half-Life and I Suck at Call Of Duty. Sure his lyrics can be silly and his hooks are considered cheesy by certain people but hopefully some of you will give him a listen and discover that music about video games can rock. He will be uploading a new song that can be found at the Escapist ever two weeks of so on Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

